American Indian Excellence in Leadership Awards

2018 Honorees Announced

Tickets are still available, CLICK HERE to register!

The Phoenix Indian Center proudly announces the 2018 Arizona American Indian Excellence in Leadership awardees! The honorees will be recognized at a dinner on Wednesday, November 14, 2018, at the Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Join Us! Click Here to Register.

Each year we host a dinner to celebrate those in the American Indian community who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and commitment to the advancement, promotion, and development of the cultural, educational, social, economic, or political welfare of the American Indian Community or have provided significant contributions to the local American Indian economy.

We invite you to join us in honoring and celebrating their accomplishments!

2018 Award Recipients:

Kent C. Ware Lifetime Achievement
Baje Whitethorne, Sr (Navajo), Renowned Navajo Artist

Phyllis J Bigpond Lifetime Achievement
Delia Carlyle (Ak-Chin Indian Community), Tribal Council Member

Spirit of the Heard Award (presented by the Heard Museum)
LuAnn Leonard

Man of the Year
Gabriel Ayala (Yaqui), Guitarist

Woman of the Year
Dawn Melvin (Navajo), Tribal Tourism Relations Manager

Business of the Year
KUYI Hopi Radio

Volunteer of the Year
Phoenix Indian Medical Center Auxiliary

Friend of the Community
Eve’s Fund for Native American Health Initiatives

Female College Student of the Year
Jennifer Jones (Navajo), Senior – Arizona State University

Male College Student of the Year
Lyndon Guy (White Mountain Apache), Junior – University of Arizona

Female High School Student of the Year
Jowun Ben (Navajo), 12th Grade – Camelback High School

Male High School Student of the Year
Adam Cardona (Gila River Akimel O-odtham), 12th Grade – Cesar Chavez High School

KJ Bowen Scholarship Recipient
Netawn Marsoobian (Navajo), 12th Grade – Chandler High School

Join us as we honor the 2018 award recipients. Click Here to Register

Questions? Email